The Clear Audit Trail option

The Clear Audit Trail option can be run at any time, it removes transactions from the nominal activities which meet a specific criteria. An opening balance journal is posted, this represents the balance of the transactions that have been removed. An audit trail history is created which holds the details of the removed transactions.

Before clearing your audit trail, we recommend you take a backup and create an archive of your data.

Sage 200 is designed for more users to operate concurrently and is capable of retaining and processing more information than Sage 50 Accounts. For more information or to arrange a demonstration, please leave your details and we’ll be in touch.

Criteria to meet to clear transactions

The Clear Audit Trail option removes all transactions that meet the following criteria:

  • Dated up to or on the date specified in the Clear Audit Trail option.
  • Date must be prior to your current financial year.
  • Fully paid.
  • VAT reconciled, if applicable.
  • Bank reconciled, if applicable.
  • If you use the CIS module, transactions must be CIS Reconciled.
  • If the transaction is allocated, the linked transactions must also meet all of the above criteria.

Any transactions that don't meet all of the above criteria aren't cleared from the audit trail.

As well as clearing your audit trail, you may also want to remove any unwanted quotations, invoices, credits and orders.

Running the Clear Audit Trail option

The Clear Audit Trail routine can take a long time to process, we recommend you run this routine on the computer which holds your accounts data.

If project transactions are removed from the audit trail, the original transaction still appears in the project activity so the figures on the project remain correct.

  1. On the menu bar click Tools then click Period End and click Clear Audit Trail.
  2. Enter the date you want to clear transactions up to and click Clear audit trail.
  3. To run a backup click Browse and select the required folder for the backup and click OK, then click OK and click OK.
  4. To view the removed transactions click OK then click Close and click Close.

You've now cleared your audit trail up to and including the specified date. If required, to reclaim disk space after removing transactions, you can Compress your data.

To check the number of transactions remaining on the audit trail, click Help then click About and under Data Information check Splits. This is the total number of transactions remaining on your audit trail.

Watch the video